Mascot
Title
Search: Keyword:
Community Service Opportunities - Circle of Champions
Posted On:
Friday, September 16, 2016
News Image
Students can find more information about what community service is and how to start logging their hours for Circle of Champions.

While the season for applying for the Walker Valley "Circle of Champions" is not until February, students can start accumulating service hours that will be able to be applied to this school year.  The purpose of service hours is to allow students the opportunity to serve their community without receiving any benefits or rewards for their efforts.  This means that any service the students provide should not be compensated with payment, a certificate of accomplishment, or college credit.  The motivation for the involvement should be the feeling of fulfillment in the student.

Community service can be performed at any number of locations, including elementary schools in our area, nursing homes, local parks, through community service organizations such as Rotary club, Kiwanis Club, Civitans, Ruritans, and veteran service organizations.  Students may also reference the United Way website to find service opportunities such as the following:

 

Community Opportunities for Service Hours



1. Family Promise – Eva VanHook, director@familypromisebradley.org, 650-4106

 

2. New Hope Pregnancy – Delaney Walker, DevelopmentDir@newhopepcc.org, 479-6683

 

3. Boys & Girls Club of the Ocoee Region – Derrick Kinsey,   dkinsey@bgcocoee.org, 559-8299

 

4. Foundation House –  Suzanne, suzanne@foundationhouseministries.org, 464-5351

 

5. The Caring Place – Savanah, savanah@thecaringplaceonline.org, 472-4414 

 

6. Family Cornerstones – Crissy Pugh, /cpugh@familycornerstones.org, 559-1112

 

7. Emergency Shelter – Keenan Blair, blairkeenan.kb@gmail.com, 478-1458

 

8. The Refuge – Kelli Kyle, kelli@refugecl.org, 584-5211

 

9. CASA – Rafael Santiago, ralf@casabp.org, 478-9119

 

10. Habitat for Humanity – Desiree Colon, dcolon@habitatofcleveland.org, 476-3916

 

11. Women’s Job Corp (WJC) - Sue Bennett commonbondcwjc@gmail.com, 298-2400

 

12. FCA – Robert Green, rgreen@fca.org, 284-0105

 

13. On Point – Tamera Yelton, tamara@liveonpoint.org, 899-9188

 

14. Special Spaces Chattanooga - Pam Moore  fancywriter@charter.net

View all Highlights
Page Bottom